DIversity - Adaptation - DEvelopment of plants

The DIADE Research Unit (DIversity - Adaptation - plant DEvelopment) aims to understand the diversification of tropical plants, one of the main original reservoirs of biodiversity, and for which conservation, management and exploitation are an important issue for Sustainable Development.

We investigate the nature and role of structural and functional changes in the genome, diversity and populations structure, particularly during speciation processes, and adaptation to natural environmental variations or human-induced changes.

The research belongs to the field of functional and evolutionary biology. It relies on genetics, epi-genetics, developmental biology, physiology, systematics, evolution. It also integrates other approaches, such as modeling, remote sensing, ecology, etc., when required by collaborative projects. The systems under study make it possible to compare model plants (rice, Arabidopsis) and species of agronomic or ecological interest (coffee trees, filaos, yams, maize, palm trees, mils).

Different levels of analysis, from cell to species complex, are considered. For example,

  • fine-tuning the expression of key developmental genes;
  • the monitoring of developmental transitions;
  • the evolutionary history of gene families;
  • molecular determinants (genes or gene networks) of the phenotypic variation of agronomic or ecological traits;
  • the dynamics and the plasticity of the genomes ;
  • diversity and evolution of populations in response to ecological and human factors.

The nine teams forming the Unit belong to IRD, University of Montpellier, CIRAD, and CNRS.

Thu, Nov 23, 2017
MinION sequencing
Thu, Nov 23, 2017
PhD Defense : Rémi Tournebize, 14:00, Capmeditrop auditorium Influence of environmental spatio-temporal variations on the current distribution of populations genetic diversity
Thu, Dec 08, 2016
News 4
Thu, Dec 08, 2016
News 3

DIversité - Adaptation - DEveloppement des plantes

L'Unité de recherche DIADE (DIversité - Adaptation - DEveloppement des plantes) vise à comprendre la diversification des plantes tropicales, qui constituent un des principaux réservoirs originaux de la biodiversité et pour lesquelles la conservation, la gestion et l’exploitation sont un enjeu important pour le Développement Durable.

Les travaux menés étudient la nature et le rôle des modifications structurelles et fonctionnelles du génome, la diversité et la structure des populations, notamment au cours des processus de spéciation, et l'adaptation aux variations naturelles du milieu ou aux modifications d’origine anthropique.

Les recherches s’inscrivent dans le domaine de la biologie fonctionnelle et évolutive. Elles s'appuient sur la génétique, l’épi-génétique, la biologie du développement, la physiologie, la systématique, l’évolution. Elles intègrent aussi, lorsque les projets collaboratifs le demandent, d’autres approches telle que la modélisation, la télédétection, l’écologie,.... Les systèmes d’étude permettent de confronter des plantes modèles (riz, Arabidopsis) et des espèces d’intérêt agronomique ou écologique (caféiers, filaos, ignames, maïs, palmiers, mils).

Différents niveaux d’analyse, de la cellule au complexe d’espèces, sont abordés :

  • la régulation fine de l’expression de gènes clefs du développement ;
  • le contrôle des transitions développementales ;
  • l’histoire évolutive de familles de gènes ;
  • les déterminants moléculaires (gènes ou réseaux de gènes) de la variation phénotypique de caractères d’intérêt agronomique ou écologique ;
  • la dynamique et la plasticité des génomes ;
  • la diversité et l'évolution des populations en réponse aux facteurs environnementaux et humains.

Les neuf équipes de recherche qui composent l'UMR sont issues de l'IRD, de l'Université de Montpellier, du CIRAD, et du CNRS, et couvrent les trois champs thématiques Diversité, Adaptation et Développement.

Jeu, Oct 11, 18
Soutenance thèse Jeremy Lavarenne
Ven, Nov 24, 17
Séquençage MinION
Jeu, Nov 23, 17
Soutenance de Thèse : Rémi Tournebize, 14h00, amphithéâtre Capmeditrop. Influence des variations spatio-temporelles de l'environnement sur la distribution actuelle de la diversité génétique des populations
Jeu, Déc 08, 16
Article actualités 3 (fr-fr)